production of short
& feature films

Akaki Popkhadze

Akaki was born in Georgia in 1991. He grew up in Russia until the age of 13. In 2004, he moved to Nice. Little by little, over the meetings and devouring the episodes of Hercule Poirot in the evening on TV, he learned the French language.

His family had a difficult start and very quickly he had to earn a living. He worked as a security guard in luxury villas in Saint-Jean Cap-Ferrat or as a nightclub waiter in Monaco and Saint-Tropez. Spectator of pomp and disproportionate and fleeting pleasures, he then began to write about everything he saw. By releasing his imagination, he revived his childhood dream: to make films. He then joined ESRA in Nice.

He wrote and directed in 2017 Le soleil des nuits blanches, short film with Florent Hill in main role. This film, which tells the story of Alex, a young cocaine addict, with his little sister, takes a raw and poetic look at the youth of today. Hailed by many professionals, it was screened at the PÖFF Shorts (Tallinn Black Nights film festival) as well as in other festivals.

In November 2017, he assisted Florent Hill on his film SLURP, short silent film which recounts moments out of time between a grandmother and her grandson. The film was notably screened at the Clermont-Ferrand Festival 2018.

In 2018, Akaki wrote and directed JE VOIS a medium-length film in a 36-minute sequence shot. The film received the Courts d'ici Award at the Nice European Film Festival in 2019 and the "Aide après réalisation" of the CNC.

Filmography

production de courts
& longs métrages

Akaki Popkhadze

Akaki est né en Géorgie en 1991. Il a grandi en Russie jusqu’à ses 13 ans. En 2004, il s’installe à Nice. Petit à petit, au fil des rencontres et en dévorant les épisodes d’Hercule Poirot le soir à la télé, il apprend la langue française.

Sa famille connaît des débuts difficiles et, très vite, il doit gagner sa vie. Il travaille comme agent de sécurité dans des villas de luxe à Saint-Jean Cap-Ferrat ou serveur en boîte de nuit à Monaco et à Saint-Tropez. Spectateur du faste et des plaisirs démesurés et éphémères, il commence alors à écrire sur tout ce qu’il voit. En libérant son imaginaire, il renoue avec son rêve d’enfant : faire du cinéma. Il intègre alors l’ESRA, à Nice.

Il écrit et réalise en 2017 Le soleil des nuits blanches, court métrage avec Florent Hill en rôle principal. Ce film, qui raconte la relation d’Alex, jeune cocaïnomane, avec sa petite soeur, porte un regard cru et poétique sur la jeunesse d’aujourd’hui. Salué par de nombreux professionnels, il sera projeté au PÖFF Shorts (Tallinn Black Nights film festival) ainsi que dans d’autres festivals.

En novembre 2017, il assiste Florent Hill sur son film SLURP, court film muet qui raconte des moments hors du temps entre une grand-mère et son petit-fils. Le film a notamment été projeté au Festival de Clermont-Ferrand 2018.

En 2018, Akaki écrit et réalise JE VOIS un moyen-métrage en un plan-séquence de 36 minutes. Le film a reçu le prix Courts d’ici au festival européen de film de Nice en 2019 et l’aide après réalisation du CNC.

Filmographie