production of short
& feature films

Marc Gurung

Born in 1984 in Gouvieux (Oise) and of Nepalese origin, Marc Gurung was passionate very early on by cinema by co-founding a neighborhood video association in Champigny-sur-Marne (94).

At the age of 17, he started making films around cultural events in the city and wrote his first scripts as a teenager. He then joined a public audiovisual BTS in “editing & post-production” at the Lycée Suger. After editing and directing dozens of clips and commercials, he turned to writing and directing films.

In 2014, he obtained the "Aide à l'écriture" at the Groupe Ouest Développement for the script of The Symphony of Hammers, then he met with his producers at the Short-Connections (Paris Court Devant) with whom he develops two films, including the Interview.

He wants to make a cinema that talks about family, immigration and integration based on his experiences. He particularly likes the cinema of John Cassavetes, Kim Ki-Duk, Maurice Pialat, the Dardenne Brothers and Ken Loach, for their naturalistic staging, the purity of the situations, their body language and their point of view on the society.

Filmography

production de courts
& longs métrages

Marc Gurung

Né en 1984 à Gouvieux (Oise) et d’origine népalaise, Marc Gurung se passionne très tôt pour le cinéma en cofondant une association vidéo de quartier à Champigny-sur-Marne (94).

Il commence à réaliser à l’âge de 17 ans des films autour d’événements culturels de la ville et écrit ses premiers scénarios dès l’adolescence. Il intègre ensuite un BTS audiovisuel public en « montage & post-production » au Lycée Suger. Après avoir monté et réalisé des dizaines de clips et de spots publicitaires, c’est vers l’écriture et la réalisation de films qu’il se tourne.

En 2014, il obtient une aide à l’écriture au Groupe Ouest Développement pour le scénario La Symphonie des Marteaux, puis il rencontre ses producteurs aux Short-Connections (Paris Court Devant) avec qui il développe deux films, dont l’Entretien.

Il souhaite faire un cinéma qui parle de la famille, de l’immigration et de l’intégration en s’appuyant sur son vécu. Il affectionne particulièrement le cinéma de John Cassavetes, de Kim Ki-Duk, de Maurice Pialat, des Frères Dardenne et de Ken Loach, pour leur mise en scène naturaliste, la pureté des situations, leur langage des corps et leur point de vue sur la société.

Filmographie